if there is one thing I really, really dislike…

It is washing dishes.  I hate scrubbing greasy, crusty dishes clean and I really hate the loud band the soapy dish makes as it slips from my hands.  I have a feeling that it might be considered torture in some twisted place, or at least a punishment in some households.  I know when I was little, my mom would take forever to wash the dishes, even though we had a dishwasher.  I would whine, towel in hand, waiting to dry yet another dish (I come from a seven person family, so that means a lot of dishes).  Mom never gave me a straight forward answer as to why she ignored the perfectly functioning dishwasher, maybe she thought she was instilling character.  Years later, after all my complaining, how ironic is it that I live in a house doesn’t have a dishwasher?  Naturally, I’ve adapted. 🙂 What I mean is that if there is some super gross, greasy, caked on mess; I wash everything else and leave that bad boy to soak overnight in hot soapy water.  Unfortunately, I also have developed the nasty little habit of waiting to take action until my whole counter top is loaded with all sorts of cups, dishes, cookie sheets, frying pans, and utensils.  I need to stop that, ASAP because I find myself making more of a mess while trying to clean it all up.  Water spills all over the floor and I end up with wet socks (my pet peeve) and not to mention that I’ve gotten soap in my eyes one too many times.  One day I will learn or I’ll make 100% sure that the next place I live in comes with an AMAZING dishwasher.

What chore(s) do you really, really dislike?

Leave a comment